The Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration is pleased to announce The Second International Conference on Non-Adversarial Justice:  Integrating Theory and Practice will be held at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia, from 6 to 8 April 2017.

Consolidating on the successful inaugural Non-Adversarial Justice: Implications for the Legal System and Society Conference, hosted by the AIJA and Monash University Faculty of Law in 2010, the second conference aims:

  • To promote discussion and consolidate knowledge about non-adversarial justice practices operating in justice systems today.
  • To promote dialogue between courts and tribunals and the social sciences in relation to non-adversarial justice practices.
  • To consider the theoretical and practical challenges facing courts in utilising non-adversarial justice practices and programs including ensuring theory is reflected in the practice of non-adversarial justice and vice versa.

Themes Include:

  • Concepts of Non-Adversarial Justice
  • Therapeutic Jurisprudence
  • Restorative Justice
  • Procedural Justice
  • Community Justice
  • Appropriate or Alternative Dispute Resolution (Including mediation, evaluation, negotiation, conciliation and arbitration)
  • Conflict Resolution
  • Dispute Prevention or Preventative Law
  • Collaborative Law
  • Creative Problem Solving
  • Holistic Law
  • Solution-Focused Courts, Problem-Solving Courts or Problem-Oriented Courts
  • Interdisciplinary Collaboration in the Legal Context
  • Diversion and Intervention Programs
  • Non-Adversarial Justice and vulnerable groups
  • Non-Adversarial Justice and CALD groups
  • Non-Adversarial Justice and Indigenous justice issues
  • Managerial Justice: Non-adversarial and Judicial Control
  • Administrative Decision-making/tribunals
  • Civil/European Legal Approaches
  • Truth and Reconciliation Commissions
  • Apology and Forgiveness
  • Implications on non-adversarial justice for: Judicial officers, Court administrators, the legal profession, victims of crime, litigants, support services, correctional agencies, legal education.

Executive Director
Professor Gregory Reinhardt 


International Speaker Sponsor

2019 AIJA - Tyler Technologies Logo

Major Sponsor

NAJ 2017 - Red Cross 300x300

Conference Website Sponsor


Becoming a sponsor of The Second International Conference on Non-Adversarial Justice: Integrating Theory and Practice will benefit your organisation by giving you:

  • Acknowledgement as an organisation that supports excellence and innovation in law and technology practice
  • Excellent networking opportunities with delegates and other sponsors
  • The opportunity to profile your company and enhance your brand
  • Direct access to your target market – particularly if involved in the e-court
  • Prominent presence in the Conference Program

Please visit the Sponsors page for full details on the sponsorship opportunities available.

Who Should Attend

  • Judges and Magistrates
  • Court administrators
  • Legal practitioners
  • Academics
  • Non-Government Organisations

The First International Conference on Non-Adversarial Justice in 2010 attracted a large number of attendees outside its membership base from within Australia and Overseas.

Conference Managers

For all enquiries please contact the team at Conference Design:

+61 3 6231 2999


PARKROYAL Darling Harbour
150 Day Street
Sydney NSW 2000

View google map of the venue.

Plenary Speakers & Committee Members

Plenary Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following plenary speakers have been confirmed for the Conference. Click here for biographies of the speakers and their topics.

Dr Astrid Birgden
PhD, Consultant Forensic Psychologist, Just Forensic and Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor, Deakin University

Professor Warren Brookbanks
Professor of Criminal Law and Justice Studies, and Director of the Centre for Non-Adversarial Justice at Auckland University of Technology

Jon Everest
Fellow of Resolution Institute

Emeritus Professor Arie Freiberg AM
Faculty of Law, Monash University

Judge Peggy Fulton Hora (Ret.)
President of the Justice Speaker Institute, LLC

Chief Justice Wayne Martin
Supreme Court of Western Australia

Professor Michael Perlin
Professor of Law Emeritus at New York Law School

Dr Karni Perlman
Head of the Non-Adversarial and Therapeutic Justice Center
Striks School of Law, College of Management Academic Studies, Israel

Professor Tania Sourdin
Dean of the University of Newcastle Law School

Professor David B. Wexler
Professor of Law and Director of the International Network on Therapeutic Jurisprudence, University of Puerto Rico

Conference Organising Committee


  • Professor Greg Reinhardt
    Executive Director, Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration

Committee Members

  • Deputy Chief Magistrate Jelena Popovic
    Magistrates’ Court of Victoria
  • Dr Liz Richardson
    Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration
  • Emeritus Professor Arie Freiberg
    Monash University
  • Justice Helen Winkelmann
    Court of Appeal of New Zealand
  • Dr Katey Thom
    University of Auckland

About conferences.com.au

conferences.com.au provides delegate registration, website and app solutions, and financial management for conferences, conventions and scientific meetings.

Terms & Conditions

All registrations and bookings are subject to our standard term and conditions.

Contact Us

Please contact the team at conferences.com.au with any questions regarding the conference.
© 2017 - 2020 Conference Design Pty Ltd. conferences.com.au is a division of Conference Design Pty Ltd.